About National Library Service

The National Library service is currently operating 17 full-time service points (libraries) at Blantyre, Zomba, Lilongwe, Lilongwe Community Center, Mzuzu, Karonga, Luchenza, Mulanje, Monkey-Bay, Likoma Island, Nkhotakota, Nkhatabay, Falls Satellite Baptist, Area 36 Kaps, Mtandire, Salima and Balaka. It also offers services at its Chiwamba Rural Community Centre and Chiseka in collaboration with Good Neighbours a South Korean Non-Governmental Organization. It has one Mobile Library Van currently operating from the Lilongwe National Library Service Headquarters.


Registration Process

Individual members can enjoy our services by joining the library at any of the service points, where they can be able to check out books for a period of 21 days. However the membership is not transferable.We also assist in establishing small libraries in various institutuions.


IDS, Book Aid International, Lions Club, Children's International, Anglia Book Distributors, CODE of Canada, NORAD, UNESCO, REI Foundation.